Skip to main content

Fourth Geneva Convention (1949)

An international convention concluded in 1949, following World War II, and ratified by 196 countries, including all UN members as well as the State of Palestine. The convention defines the obligations of parties to a conflict (whether war were declared or not) or forces occupying enemy territory regarding the protection of non-combatants and combatants who are out of active fighting. Among other measures, the convention prohibits collective punishment, extrajudicial killing, torture, destruction of property and population transfer (whether deportation of enemy population or transfer of the occupying power's population into occupied territory).