Skip to main content
Jerusalem|Religious & Historical Issues / Agreements

Treaty of Berlin (1878)

A treaty signed between several European powers in Berlin, Germany, on 13 July 1878. While mostly involving the political status of territories in the Balkans, the treaty also confirmed the status quo regarding the holy places in the Ottoman Empire, and confirmed the provisions of the 1856 Treaty of Paris.